Athletic hall of fame inductees

The William Floyd School District, along with the William Floyd Alumni Association, is pleased to announce the 12th class of Athletic Hall of Fame honorees who will be recognized at a ceremony and luncheon on Saturday, Jan. 19 at 12 p.m. in the William Floyd High School senior cafeteria. This year’s class of honorees includes one team award recipient, a community award recipient, an honorary award recipient and four individual athletes, who have made a mark on William Floyd athletics.

This year’s honorees include the 1976 league champion varsity baseball team coached by Mike Ferrigno, which finished with a 17-1 record and made it all the way to the top four in the Suffolk County baseball tournament. The Tri Hamlet Sports Club is also garnering induction for their work teaching important baseball skills and fundamentals for the youth of the community. Earning this year’s honorary award is boxer Joe Smith Jr., Class of 2007, who did not compete in athletics for William Floyd, but has distinguished himself in the world of boxing by attaining the status of WBC International Light Heavyweight Champion. He also made highlight reels around the world for knocking boxing legend Bernard Hopkins out of the ring.

The outstanding individual athletes garnering induction this year include Joseph Passaro, Class of 1978, a three-sport athlete (football, baseball and basketball) earning various accolades in each sport, including the 1978 Outstanding Male Athlete award for William Floyd. The next standout athlete garnering induction is Ginine (Lucarello) Duda, Class of 2002, a dominant track and field and cross country athlete who won the Suffolk County A Cross Country Championship in 1999 among other achievements and set numerous William Floyd records during her time as a Colonial athlete. Also being enshrined is Steve Murphy, Class of 2009, a two-sport athlete (football and lacrosse), a two-time All-Long Island First Team lacrosse player who was ranked No. 26 nationally as a recruit by Inside Lacrosse magazine, among many accolades in lacrosse. He also earned several top honors as a member of the football team, such as All-State (First Team), All-Long Island (First Team) and the Boomer Esiason Award given annually to the best quarterback in Suffolk County. The fourth individual athlete being honored is Courtney Murphy, Class of 2013, a standout lacrosse player, who amassed 252 goals and 55 assists during her time as a Colonial. She earned All-County (three times), All-Long Island (twice) and is a two-time Under Armour All-American as well as an All-American for Inside Lacrosse magazine. She also earned All-County honors in two other sports — basketball and field hockey.

This year’s class joins the ranks of 68 individual athletes, six coaches, five community award recipients, one recipient in the Floyd Fanatic category and 11 team award recipients, including the 1962 baseball team, the 1969 boys cross country team, the 1972 boys cross country team, the 1981-82 girls basketball team, the 1982 varsity football team, the 1986 girls cross country team, the 1987 bowling team, the 1991 softball team, the 1994 boys basketball team, the 2001 football team and the 2002 wrestling team.

To be considered for the individual honor, nominees must be alumni of William Floyd High School and have exhibited both excellence and sportsmanship during their time as a William Floyd student-athlete. The annual hall of fame induction ceremony, sponsored by the William Floyd Alumni Association, is designed to recognize former outstanding athletes and role models of the past while strengthening the bonds between the community, the district and its alumni.

The ceremony will take place in the William Floyd High School senior cafeteria at noon on Saturday, Jan. 19. The cost to attend the luncheon is $35 per person, $17 for children 6-12, and children under 6 are free. Tickets are available at the door and can also be purchased online at Please note there is a small service charge for tickets purchased online.

Recent Posts