Man and Woman of the Year

The Long Island Advance is once again asking the residents of our community to identify this year’s candidates for Man and Woman of the Year.

Candidates for the Man and Woman of the Year award should include those individuals who support our South Shore community in a volunteer capacity. It should not be someone who is known to this community because of his or her job or professional position. We are looking for people who take it upon themselves to make a difference in this community, not simply someone who has a job to do, or who happens to be a member of a well-established organization.

As worthy as those efforts are, we believe that those people receive recognition in other ways, whether in the form of a paycheck or advancement within the organizations to which they belong.

The editorial board of The Long Island Advance is looking to honor those who have contributed in some special way to the community in which they live. These individuals are the ones who deserve recognition for their efforts, but don’t go about their work to receive media or public attention.

The deadline for nominations is Thursday, Jan. 10, 2019.

Letters of nomination must include a detailed summary of the person’s accomplishments and a phone number of the nominee. Nominations should be sent to: The Long Island Advance, P.O. Box 780, Patchogue, NY 11772, or by fax to 631-475-1565. Nominations can also be sent to the following email address:

Please address all correspondence to: Attention: Man and Woman of the Year nominations.

Don’t put it off. Take a few minutes today to think about your nominations and write to us as soon as you have made your choices. Thank you!

Past winners

2017 – Debbie Loesch of Bellport and Louis Valentino of East Patchogue

2016 – Catherine Olinger of Patchogue and Dave Rogers of Patchogue

2015 – Emily Marge and Erin Maud of Pat-Med High School and Tim Gentzel of East Patchogue

2014 – Peg Rand of East Patchogue and Mark Miller of Bayport

2013 – Christopher Capobianco of Patchogue and Rose Ventiere of East Patchogue

2012 – John Rogers of North Bellport and Lori Fosmire of East Patchogue

2011 – Brian Weeks of Patchogue (posthumously) and Johan McConnell of South Yaphank

2010 – Pamela Smith of Patchogue and Al Rand of Bellport

2009 – James Vaughan of Bellport and Margaret King of Patchogue

2008 – Louise Ebert of Medford and Thomas J. Keegan of Patchogue

2007 – Nancy Marr of East Patchogue and Steve Gill of Patchogue

2006 – Helen Starke of Brookhaven hamlet and Walter Ladick of Patchogue

2005 – Thomas Williams of Brookhaven hamlet and Marilyn McKeown of Brookhaven hamlet

2004 – Frederick “Ted” Davies of East Patchogue and Barbara “Bonnie” Underwood of Patchogue

2003 – Bill Hoerschgen of East Patchogue and Mary Kate Goff of East Patchogue

2002 – Vincent Carfora of Patchogue and Thelma Vaz of Bellport

2001 – Neil Esposito of Bayport and Faith McCutcheon of Brookhaven hamlet

2000 – Doug Steigerwald of East Patchogue and

Betty Fuka of Brookhaven hamlet

1999 – Marty Van Lith of Brookhaven hamlet and

Anne Swezey of Patchogue

1998 – Art Cooley of Bellport and

Sister Elaine of Patchogue

1997 – Anthony Gazzola of East Patchogue and

Janice Schaefer of Mastic Beach

1996 – Matthew Bailey of Patchogue and

Dava Stravinsky of Bellport

1995 – Dennis Puleston of Brookhaven hamlet and

Ruth Manitta of East Patchogue

1994 – Miles Boone and Rae Maynes of North Bellport

1993 – Jesus Garcia and Renee Alevas of Patchogue

1992 – Deanna Annis of Bellport and

Victor J. Yannacone Jr. of Patchogue

1991 – Joop van der Grinten of East Patchogue and

Sonia Homanock of Mastic Beach

1990 – Eric Basner of North Patchogue and

Margaret Thode of Medford

Recent Posts