William Floyd hosts Senior Signing Day for college-bound music students

William Floyd High School recently hosted its first ever Senior Signing Day event for college-bound student-musicians. In order to be a collegiate musician, students must first be accepted to a college or university and then invited to audition, which involves rigorous preparation and a presentation of between two and five musical pieces performed before a panel of music professors.

William Floyd hosts Senior Signing Day for college-bound music students
Pictured with the students are George Ober, Music Department Chairperson and WFHS music teachers Barbara D’Orio, Michael Cordaro, Dr. Amy Mason Sckipp, Donia Rivera, Christopher Shaughnessy, Garry Helbock and Mick Singh.

This year, 40 William Floyd High School seniors will be performing in collegiate music ensembles, five will minor in music and an additional 10 will major in music in the areas of music performance, music education, music therapy, music technology and music production/sound and recording. This talented group of student-musicians has been collectively awarded a total of nearly $1 million in scholarships.

Music majors include: Andra Henry, Crane School of Music SUNY Potsdam, Music Education; Kaitlyn Sottung, LIU Post, Music Education; Amanda Ohlsen, Stevens Institute of Technology, Music Technology; Kaylee Monahan, Montclair State University, Music Therapy; Iliana Barcenas, Eastman School of Music, Viola Performance; Amanda Cain, Ithaca College School of Music, Music Education; Sarah Gross, Syracuse University Setnor School of Music, Music Production/Sound and Recording Technology; Justin Wheeler, Crane School of Music SUNY Potsdam, Music Education; Elizabeth Scianno, Temple University Boyer College of Music and Dance, Viola Performance; and Joseph San Pietro, Nassau Community College, Music Education.

Music minors include: Tim Klement, Sarah Latoraco, Albert Wheeler, Emma Bull and Dan Lombardo.  All students continuing in music in college are: Sarah Gross; Kaitlyn Sottung; Amanda Cain; Iliana Barcenas; Michelle Sylvert; Sadat Gresham; Albert Wheeler; Justin Wheeler; Tim Klement; Dan Lombardo; Jenna Linsalata; Amber Rios; Sarah Latoraco; Kaylee Monahan;  Joseph San Pietro; Elizabeth Scianno; Chelsea Shuren; Amanda Olhsen; Luca Columbano; Carlos Martinez-Mejia; Sean Siegel; Ashley Jahrsdoerfer; Emma Bull; Thomas Panicola; Adrienne Torres; Christian Nordstrom; Angel Velasquez; Gabbie Lettieri; Bonny Tran; Jack Guzman; Spiridoula Kaltsas; Samantha Streeter; Adwoa Enin; and Darien Gordon. Students who will also perform in collegiate ensembles are Ramona Gillio, Nikolis Koutrokois, Michelle Lara, Brianna Benitez, Christopher Hart, Alex Siegel and Miranda Sapio.

Recent Posts