William Floyd Inducts Ninth Class of Hall of Fame Athletes

In collaboration with the William Floyd Alumni Association, the William Floyd School District recently inducted its ninth class of standout student-athletes into the William Floyd Athletic Hall of Fame before a crowd of more than 100 people including several fellow Hall of Fame athletes from previous induction classes. Attendees were treated to a fully-catered lunch by the students enrolled in the William Floyd High School Culinary Arts program. After the ceremony, honorees were introduced to the crowd during the 31st Annual Kujan Brothers Memorial Wrestling Tournament followed by a tour of the high school along with stops in the district’s Career and Technical Education wing and the Rita Rech Museum of William Floyd School District History.

Class of 2016 inductees include members of the 1981-82 girls basketball team, the first championship in program history, and their coaches Head Coach Susan Wisniewski and Assistant Coach Tom Ferrigno; Coach Susan Wisniewski as the fifth coach inductee; the YUMA Baseball Organization as the community recipient;  as well as outstanding individual athletes Christopher Clay (1983/posthumous), football/wrestling; Marybeth Hoffman (1991), basketball/field hockey/softball; James O’Brien (1969), baseball/basketball; Andrew Miller (2005), football/lacrosse; and Patrina Williams (1984), basketball.

The William Floyd Athletic Hall of Fame has now inducted 58 individual athletes, five coaches, three honorary recipients, two community recipients and nine championship teams, including this year’s honorees the 1981-82 girls basketball team, 1962 baseball team, the 1969 boys cross country team, the 1972 boys cross country team, the 1987 bowling team, the 1991 softball team, the 1994 boys basketball team, the 2001 football team and the 2002 wrestling team. Congratulations to the recipients!

  1. tom demme was one of the greatest athletes the school ever had and his name is no where to be found

Leave a Reply

Recent Posts