Floyd gymnastics wins league title


The William Floyd girls varsity gymnastics team are League II co-champions. The Colonials, under the leadership of head coach Rich Daly, finished the regular season with an impressive 5-1 league record (7-3 overall) en route to their second league title in the past five years.

They then competed—for the first time in school history—in the county championship at Walt Whitman High School.

The Colonials put forth a great effort at the county championships, as they were one of six competing against the top teams in Suffolk County. All student-athletes had solid performances with many high 8s and several 9s. They defeated Bay Shore, a team they lost to in the first meet of the season, and finished in fifth place overall.

The team, led by head coach Daly (William Floyd) and assistant coach Lindsay Kulik (Mount Sinai), consists of student athletes from five districts: William Floyd (WF), Eastport-South Manor (ESM), Longwood (LW), Miller Place (MP) and Shoreham-Wading River (SWR).

After an 0-2 start to the regular season, the Colonials finished strong with a 7-1 record over their last eight competitions. Their final victory, a 160.9 to 157.7 win over Patchogue-Medford, helped clinch the Colonials’ second crown since 2019. 

Additionally, the Colonials participated in the 2023 Suffolk County Gymnastics Coaches Invitational Meet on Saturday, Oct. 28, in Kings Park, where they put together fine performances including several team members earning All-League and All-County honors.

Team members include: Ava Elese (WF/All-League); Adriana McCook (WF/All-League); Katelyn Perillo (WF/All-League); Isabella Manfredonia (ESM/All-League); Adrianna Pabon (LW/All-League); Ava Szczepanik (LW/All-League); Julia Cebul (LW/All-League); Danielle Tramm (LW/All-County); Michela Nobre (SWR/All-County); Emma Pollak (SWR/All-County); Breanna Thomas (LW/All-County); Gianna Polini (WF); Vanessa Echeverry (WF); Gabriella Paciulli (WF); Avery Morano (WF); A’vaiyha Bloxon (WF); Kate Bernhardt (MP); Katie Bold (MP); Madison Cummings (SWR); and Lana Robson (LW).


No comments on this item Please log in to comment by clicking here