Town releases proposed maps

Code requires lines be reworked every 10 years


As per Brookhaven Town code, the lines must be redistricted every 10 years, after council districts were formed in 2000. The requirement, according to town officials, ensures equal representation as a reflection of the most current population data.

In May, the Town of Brookhaven appointed a redistricting committee comprised of three Democratic representatives, three Republican representatives, and two other party representatives. The redistricting committee, pursuant to Chapter 27-7C (1), consists of eight voting members who will review and/or analyze and provide a proposal to the town board, using the federal census information and election districts determined by the Board of Elections.

Members include: Rabia Aziz of Coram, George Hoffman of Setauket, Gail Lynch-Bailey of Middle Island, Delilah Bustamante of Manorville, Ali Nazir of Lake Grove, Edward McCarthy of Blue Point, Chad Lennon of Rocky Point, and Krystina Sconzo of Mastic Beach.

Since then, several public meetings have been held throughout the town in discussing the two possible maps with newly formed lines based on the more current census data, which was recently released.

After all comments are heard, the committee will consider all concerns and recommendations and decide on the best-possible new lines in each council district, of which there are six.  Once a decision is made, the new maps will be presented to the town board of trustees as a resolution, which then can be voted on for adoption. The process is expected to conclude before the end of the year.

For more information on the Town of Brookhaven redistricting committee, please contact


No comments on this item Please log in to comment by clicking here